Responsive Ad Area
Home » An Appreciation Luncheon for Outstanding Women in Local Government

Share This Post

Highlights / Top Stories

An Appreciation Luncheon for Outstanding Women in Local Government

An Appreciation Luncheon for Outstanding Women in Local Government

NASSAU, The Bahamas — An Appreciation Luncheon celebrating outstanding women in Local Government was held, March 15th, 2023 at Paul Farquharson Centre, Police Headquarters.  

Local Government Month is being celebrated this month of March, and its theme is ‘Celebrating in the Year of Our Jubilee.’  Chair of the Bahamas Independence Secretariat and CARICOM High Commissioner HE Leslia Miller-Brice was the keynote speaker, praising women for their role in national development, and the 20 women in Local Government who were being recognized.  

In attendance were Mrs. Ann Marie Davis of the Office of the Spouse of the Prime Minister; Minister of Education and Technical & Vocational Training the Hon. Glenys Hanna-Martin; and Hon. Madam Justice Hope Strachan, who was receiving an award.

Receiving the Pioneering Awards were pioneers, trailblazers — first females to serve in various capacities: Justice Hope Strachan, first female Minister with Responsibility for Local Government; the late Gloria Bain, first female Commissioner/Family Island Administrator; Camille Johnson, first female Permanent Secretary/Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Local Government; Brenda Colebrooke, first female Director/Local Government; and Theresa Antoinette Cartwright, first female Chief Councilor/Long Island District.

Receiving the Resilient Award were women in Local Government who led and assisted with recovery efforts in their communities in the face of the devastating impact of Hurricane Dorian on Abaco and Grand Bahama.  They were: Maxine Duncombe, Cristian Palacious, Terrece Bootle, Keffianne Ferguson, Frazette Gibson, Giselle McIntosh, Gayle McIntosh, Michelle McIntosh, Stephanie Hield, Christian Curry, Kendra Smith, Jacqueline Russell, Monique Deal, Marcia Campbell, Keithtaarror Munroe, Constance Hanna, Shantell Patrice Mackey, Chairmaine Previel, Zonobia Duncombe, and Gwendolyn Lewis.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>